It is against state law to evade payment of bus fare or misuse
transfers, passes, or tickets to avoid fare payment. Doing so is
punishable by a fine of up to $250 (California Penal Code Section 640).
California Penal Code Section 640 prohibits smoking; eating or drinking; and loud disturbances aboard a bus.
Assaulting a transit passenger or operator is a crime punishable by
imprisonment, a fine of up to $10,000, or both (California Penal Code
Section 243.3). AC Transit will prosecute all incidents to the full
extent of the law.
Federal law requires that priority seats be made available to persons with disabilities and seniors.
No smoking at bus stops in most cities or on buses.